Health and Science | NCFE

What can we help you find?

T Levels: providing the future skilled workers for health and science 

T Levels mark a revolution in technical education. 

NCFE spearheaded the development of the technical qualifications that sit at the centre of the following 3 health and science T Levels: 

  • Health 
  • Healthcare Science 
  • Science. 

Launched in September 2021, Health and Science T levels are a high-quality, work-focused alternative to A Levels for young people once they’ve completed their GCSEs. 

Backed by employers, developed by experts 

We worked with over 133 leading health and science sector bodies, employers, expert practitioners and training providers to develop the technical qualifications that underpin the Health and Science T Levels. 

This substantial collaboration enabled us to ensure these technical qualifications reflect the needs of the health and science sector and specialist occupations they serve – in turn supporting students’ preparation for work or further study in the sector.   

We’ll support your T Level delivery 

We understand that T Levels are entirely new qualifications, and we’ve developed a wide range of materials and activities to support you in delivering these transformative programmes.  

Our offer includes: 

  • Guidance documents 
  • Support videos 
  • Sample assessment materials. 
An extension of your T Level team 

Every NCFE T Level provider is assigned a dedicated account specialist to support you throughout your T Level journey. This single point of contact means the answer to any T Level query is never more than a phone call or email away. 

About the Health and Science T Levels 

These Level 3 technical qualifications provide learners with the knowledge, skills and behaviours needed to progress into skilled employment or higher-level technical training or study in the health and science sector. The core knowledge and understanding are assessed through an examination and core skills through a practical employer-set project. In addition to this, maths, English, and general digital skills will be integrated within the qualification in occupationally relevant contexts. 

The core content for the 3 T Levels will cover the following areas: 

  • Working within health and science 
  • Human health 
  • Safety and environmental regulations 
  • Managing information and data  
  • Good scientific and clinical practice 
  • Core science concepts. 

The diverse content ensures learners will be able to apply their skills well in different roles, for different purposes.  

What are the occupational specialisms? 

The specialisms for the Health T Level are: 

  • Supporting Healthcare - Supporting the Adult Nursing team 
  • Supporting Healthcare - Supporting the Midwifery team 
  • Supporting Healthcare - Supporting the Mental Health team 
  • Supporting Healthcare - Supporting the care of Children and Young People 
  • Supporting Healthcare - Supporting the Therapy teams. 

Dental Nursing 

  • Dental Nurse 
  • Senior Dental Nurse 
  • Oral Health Educator 
  • Treatment Co-ordinator 
  • NVQ Assessor 
  • Practice Manager 
  • Specialist Dental Nurse (Orthodontics, sedation, implantology) 
  • Dental Hygienist 
  • Dental Therapist. 

The specialism for the Healthcare T Level is: 

  • Assisting with Healthcare Science. 

The specialisms for the Science T Level are: 

  • Technical: Laboratory Sciences 
  • Technical: Food Sciences 
  • Technical: Metrology Sciences.