We offer over 500 nationally accredited qualifications, from Entry Level up to and including Level 4 as well as NVQs, Functional Skills, Apprenticeships and Traineeships. We're constantly developing new and exciting qualifications so watch this space for updates!

If you're looking for an NCFE qualification that's been advertised by a third party and it doesn't appear on our list of qualifications, then it may be that it's either a Customised Award or an Investing in Quality programme. These are courses that are not national qualifications but have been developed by other training centres and are independently accredited by NCFE.

Flag Green Search our portfolio of qualifications

Flag Yellow View the qualifications that we're currently developing

National Qualification Framework

The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) is a framework which illustrates the level and category of those qualifications, which have been accredited by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA), which enable recognition of learners' achievements and facilitate career progression.

The NQF was established by QCA in order to:

  • widen participation and promote life-long learning
  • clarify the relationships between qualifications, including broad equivalences and routes of progression
  • facilitate choice and combination of qualification types and breadth of study or specialism within a particular area, where necessary, for progression
  • allow reasonable choice and scope across different qualification types for innovation, whilst avoiding unnecessary overlap and duplication, and command public and professional confidence in the qualifications system.

Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)

The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) introduces a standard currency for learner achievement across the qualifications system through the award of credit. It’s a framework which recognises skills and qualifications. It does this by awarding credit for qualifications and units (small steps of learning) and enables people to gain qualifications at their own pace along flexible routes. 

Understanding credit

All units developed for inclusion on the QCF must include a credit value. The credit value's role is to indicate the amount of directed learning time required on average, for a learner to achieve a unit. Learning time is made up not only of Guided Learning Hours (GLH) but also of directed time spent 'away from the provider' (non-GLH: homework, independent research, work placement / experience).

What it means to learning providers

Besides being able to offer more freedom, flexibility, choice and opportunities for learners it also:

  • helps improve retention and progression rates by recognising smaller steps of achievement
  • tracks all learners' achievements through the use of a Unique Learner Number (ULN) and an individual's electronic learner record, giving providers standard information about each learner's past achievements
  • describe achievements to employers and learners in a language that’s easy to understand.

PDF ICON Credit Transfer, Equivalence and Exemption in the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)

PDF Icon Equivalence Exemption Form

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs)

From August 2010, all new National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) are accredited within the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF).

NCFE International

If you're looking to deliver qualifications outside of the UK, we can accredit them - check out our International webpage.