Customer Service Specialist | EPA Standards | NCFE | NCFE

What can we help you find?

EPA Standard

Customer Service Specialist

Level 3     £4,000      15 months

1. What the role entails

The Customer Service Specialist advocates for customer service. They’re a referral point for complex and technical requests, complaints and queries. As an expert in their organisation’s products and services, they’ll share knowledge with the wider team and colleagues. They’ll gather and analyse data and customer information that influences change and improvements in service.

2. On-programme assessment

Before entering Gateway, the apprentice must complete the following on-programme assessment requirements:

  • Level 2 English and maths
  • the Work-based Project proposal
  • the Portfolio of Evidence.

3. Gateway requirements

The employer, independent training provider (ITP) and apprentice make the decision to take the apprentice through Gateway. The apprentice must achieve all the required on-programme elements before they enter Gateway.

4. End-point assessment

The EPA for Customer Service Specialist contains three methods of assessment:

Practical Observation with Q&A

The Independent End-Point Assessor (IEPA) will oversee the Practical Observation, as the apprentice undertakes a range of duties in the workplace. The Observation will last 60 minutes (+/- 10%) and include a 10-minute Q&A.

Grading: graded as a Pass or Distinction.

Work-based Project (supported by an Interview)

The apprentice submits the Work-based Project proposal at Gateway. Once approved, they’ll have two months to complete the Project and submit a 2500-word report (+/- 10%). This report must be submitted two weeks before the Interview takes place. During the Interview, apprentices will be asked 10 questions based on their Project and the supporting evidence. The Interview will last for 60 minutes.

Grading: graded as a Pass or Distinction.

Professional Discussion

The Professional Discussion provides an opportunity for the apprentice to demonstrate their knowledge, skills and behaviours. They’ll support this with a Portfolio of Evidence that they’ve built up during the on-programme period. This informal discussion will last 60 minutes (+/- 10%).

Grading: graded as a Pass or Distinction.

5. Grade aggregation table

Fail The apprentice fails any part of the EPA
Pass The apprentice meets all Pass criteria in all the assessment methods
Distinction The apprentice meets all Pass and Distinction criteria in all the assessment methods

6. Completion and certification

We’ll activate certification once the apprentice has successfully completed all EPAs, and the IEPA has verified this. Working with the apprenticeship certificate issuing authority, we’ll ensure the apprentice receives their certificate.

7. What next?

The learning doesn’t stop once the apprenticeship is complete. We offer a full suite of programmes to take your apprentice up the career ladder. Their next step is Operations/Departmental Manager (Level 5).


We’re an approved End-Point Assessment Organisation (EPAO) specialising in EPA delivery across health, education, early years, digital, social care, finance and business apprenticeship standards. We offer flexible and reliable EPA solutions supported by sector expertise, guidance documents and proactive service and support.

Get in touch

Download a PDF version of this standard
Download now

View the full IfATE Customer Service Practitioner standard

Explore the standard